logo Creation made simple
Beautifully designed
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut convallis tempor orci vitae vehicula. Aliquam in ullamcorper lacus.
Follow & share

CPBS Events at the FEI European Pony Championships a great success

CPBS Events at the FEI European Pony Championships a great success

The long association of the Connemara Pony Breeders’ Society with the Green Glens Arena in Millstreet is a happy one. When Ashfield Bobby Sparrow and Edward Doyle won the Belgian Grand Prix at la Hulpe at the 1980 European Championships it marked a major breakthrough for Connemaras on the international stage. It was mainly as a result of that superb performance, by the son of Carna Bobby, that the European Championships were awarded to Ireland and to Millstreet in the following year, 1981.

At that event and in front of an international audience the Connemara Pony Breeders ‘Society organised a display of Connemara ponies. It consisted of an inhand display of mares and stallions, a ridden display, a dressage display and a four bar jumping competition in which Ashfield Bobby Sparrow competed.

The Connemara Pony Breeders’ Society returned to the Green Glens arena last Thursday (31st July) with three separate displays of the Connemara Pony.  The first event commenced at 9.30am with the final of the ICCPS Green Hunter Final, where nine of the ten ponies qualified participated.  The judges for this competition were Mrs. Gillian Kyle and Ms. Mary Mitchell (ride judge).  The first phase of this competition was the jumping phase, which was over a course  of 8 rustic style  fences including a double .  Seven ponies from phase one were eligible for phase two, as unfortunately two ponies accumulated faults from phase one.  Ms. Mary Mitchell rode all seven ponies beautifully , who were then stripped and Mrs. Gillian Kyle judged each pony on conformation.  The riders then mounted while the marks were totalled and the winner was announced ……………….

1st: Kaitlyn’s Rebel M1-23870. Owned by Clive Swindell and ridden by Alysaa O’Neill

2nd: Lor Ruadh’s Cedro S3-8340. Owned by Neil McCluskey and ridden by Rachel Moore

3rd: Coolodge Joker S3-8688. Owned by Laura Whitney and ridden by Laura Whitney

4th: Kilpatrick Cascade S3-9364. Owned by Janet Williamson and ridden by Janet Williamson

5th:  Golden Pat G1-10057. Owned by Gareth Morrison & Hannah Dumigan and ridden by Hannah Dumigan

6th: Bertraghboy Beau Geste G1-8286. Owned by Ms Susan Gageby-Denham and ridden by Alicia Devlin-Byrne

7th: Knockmoy Eile G1-8313. Owned by Sarah Casey and ridden by Sarah Casey

8th: Yukon Heather M1-25168. Owned by E & S Hannigan and ridden by Sandra Hannigan (4 faults)

9th: Brickey Echo M1-25389. Owned by Joan Dahill and ridden by Pauline Dahill (4 faults)

The CPBS Performance Derby course commenced after the ICCPS Green Hunter.  There was a break of about 30-40 minutes to allow course builder James Tarrant and his team adjust the course.

There was eighteen ponies entered for the Performance Derby class with seventeen ponies declaring for the competition.  The first into the ring was Black Shadow who was unfortunate with two fences down.  This was to be trend for the next few ponies into the ring with some ponies finding fence number one very spooky.  Ashfield Jack Sparrow was eliminated after problems at fence number one and Lahaknock Rose was eliminated at the water tray.   Tom Murray stallion Plume De Kezeg and rider Pauline Dahill soon turned the tables with a clear round and saw several clear rounds to follow.  The final fence of a twig style poles caught a few ponies out.  Beaugh Drifter, Bobby Sparrow Blue and Lettermuckoo Lad were all clear until the last fence !

The eventual winner was Josie Jump and Jason Higgins who jumped a flawless round and a very close 2nd was awarded to Lydia Dawson riding her mothers pony Gloster Boy

1st: Josie Jump. Owned by JJ Bowe and ridden by Jason Higgins

2nd: Gloster Boy. Owned by Helena Dawson and ridden by Lydia Dawson

3rd: Agharanny Minstrel. Owned by Noreen O’Connor and ridden by Edwina O’Connor

4th: Plume De Kezeg. Owned by Tom Murray and ridden by Pauline Dahill

5th: Blackwood Fernando. Owned by Claire Devlin Byrne and ridden by Alicia Devlin Byrne

6th: Shanbo Hazels Boy. Owned by Margaret Bond and ridden by Gillian Bond

7th: Bobby Sparrow Blue. Owned by Patricia Dalton and ridden by Justine O’Hara

8th: Bruckless Elmar. Owned by Orla Murtagh and ridden by Lauren Murtagh

9th: Annagh Storm. Owned by Rachel Kelly and ridden by Anna Kelly

10th: Cashelbay Prince. Owned by Robert & Barabara Fallon and ridden by Emma Horgen

11th:  Beaugh Drifter. Owned by Linda Mullane and ridden by Sophie Mullane

12th: Black Shadow. Owned by Liam Lynskey and ridden by Hannah Gordon

13th: Comical Con. Owned by Jane Hancock and ridden by Lucy Hancock

14th: Ashfield Trobadour. Owned by Fiona Callaghan and ridden by Viola Callaghan

15th: Lettermuckoo Lad. Owned by Pat Kelly and ridden by Jack kelly

There was a break for a few hours before the Dressage Demonstation and stallion parade.  The arena was soon changed around from a jumping arena to a dressage arena with the help of the Performance Committee and some of the spectators (thank you to all)

Mary Mitchell opened the stallion parade with a musical demonstration on her own homebred Western May.  The stallion parade started at about 4.30pm with the first stallion into the ring was Currachmore Cashel.  All 20 stallions were divided into groups of in hand or ridden, shown first individually and then in their group. Currachmore Cashel and Josie Jump were shown in the first group and a photo taken of the father and son !  A list of all the stallions shown are attached.  The only stallions not shown were Kilmullen Fionn, Glenayre Mystical Bobby,  Menlough Owen. Lettermuckoo Lad was unable to stay for the parade.

A huge thank you to everyone who attended, participated and helped out. Hopefully you all enjoyed it as much as we did.  Until the next adventure !!!

Share Post
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.